Welcome toCork Camogie

Super Sub Keane Makes Impact to Push Inniscarra to Munster Glory

Super impact sub Claudia Keane’s hand pass goal to the Inagh Kilnamona net early in the second half gave Inniscarra the impetuous to push on and capture their second AIB Camogie Club Championships Munster Senior title at Cashel on Sunday last.

Keane had been introduced to the fray at half time and took only seven minutes to make her presence felt.  Aileen Sheehan made a surging run through the Inagh Kilnamona defence to offload a pass to Keane at the edge of the square and she wasn’t found wanting when she expertly dispatched a hand pass to the net giving Rebecca Keating no chance between Inagh Kilnamona posts.

Inniscarra got off to a brilliant start when the tenacious Niamh McCarthy made a strong run to off load to Niamh Dilworth who fired to the Inagh Kilnamona net to see the Cork champions take the lead inside the opening two minutes.

Amy Keating responded for Inagh Kilnamona when she pointed a 45 metre free before Dilworth responded with a fine effort under pressure on 13.

Keating pointed a 40 metre free, her second of five placed balls over the course of the hour to keep the Clare champions in touch.  However, the competent Dilworth on free taking duty restored the Inniscarra lead to three on 21 when she fired over a close range placed ball.

With occasional showers, a strong breeze and slippery underfoot conditions impacting on the game both teams battled hard with Teresa O’Keeffe, captain Clare Hehir, Laoise Ryan and Aoife Keane initiating the Inagh Kilnamona effort. 

On 23 Ryan cut the deficit to two when after a strong build up and en route to goal she unleashed a shot that shaded just over the cross bar to see her side trail 0-03 to Inniscarra’s 1-02 which held to the short whistle.

Upon the resumption Dilworth had three between the sides when she pointed a 20 metre free before the hard working Katie O’Mahony split the posts to push Inniscarra four clear. 

With Caitlin Looney, Rosie O’Mahony and Rena Buckley holding down their defence Inniscarra rallied and when player of the match Aileen Sheehan made a surging run that found Keane on the edge of the square she made no mistake when she received the pass to turn and hand pass into the Inagh Kilnamona net.

Three Keating close range frees in quick succession had Inagh Kilnamona to within four of Cork champions on the three quarter mark, however, an excellent brace from McCarthy and Keane pushed Inniscarra three clear heading into the closing 10 minutes.

Keane pulled one back for the Clare side, however, three placed balls in the space of three minutes from the unerring Dilworth closed out the game with Inniscarra taking the title on a scoreline of Inniscarra 2-09, Inagh Kilnamona 0-07.


Inagh Kilnamona: R. Keating, J. Fitzgerald, S. Quinn, S. Power, T. O’Keeffe, C. Hehir (c), O. Cotter, A. Keane, A. O’Keeffe, F. Lafferty, S. O’Loughlin, L. Ryan, A. Ryan, A. Keating, C. Commane.

Subs: C. Foudy for S. Quinn (HT), L. Rynne for O. Cotter (HT).

Inniscarra: S. Walsh, Á. O’Regan, C. Looney, R. Quigley, R. O’Mahony, R. Buckley, R. Keane, A. Sheehan, K. O’Mahony, T. McCarthy (c), N. Dilworth, E. Looney, J. Burke, N. McCarthy, E. Murphy.

Subs: C. Keane for J. Burke (HT), Á. O’Connor for E. Murphy (55), M. Buckley for Á. O’Regan (61), L. Hayes for R. Quigley (62), D. O’Callaghan for R. Keane (62).                     


Inagh Kilnamona: A. Keating 0-05 (0-04f, 0-0145), C. Foudy 0-01, L. Ryan 0-01,                      

Inniscarra: N. Dilworth 1-06 (0-05f), C. Keane 1-01, N. McCarthy 0-01, K. O’Mahony 0-01

Referee: John Lillis, Tipperary

Comments are closed.