Welcome toCork Camogie

An Assured Cork Side Defeat Tipperary to be Crowned Munster Champions

Cork collected their 60th Munster Camogie Senior Championship title after a definitive victory over Tipperary who despite being reduced to 13 in the second half fought a brave battle against the reigning All Ireland Champions in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Saturday last.

From the outset Cork played with a slick flair with player of the match Ashling Thompson pivotal in linking defence and attack and amassing five exceptional points from play.

Cork opened the scoring when Linda Collins collected a pass from the instrumental Chloe Sigerson to turn and point before Thompson fired over to see Cork two clear after three minutes.  Tipperary responded via the unyielding Cait Devane, who accounted for all but one of Tipps scores of the afternoon, when she struck for a brace to tie the sides on 2 apiece after 7.

Three unanswered points from play had Cork exerting their dominance on the game via Thompson, Julia White and Katrina Mackey before an Orla Cronin 45 metre placed ball had Cork four clear on the quarter mark.

Orla O’Dwyer cut the deficit with a fine effort before Amy O’Connor fired over and Thompson picked off her third of the game to see five between the sides after 20 minutes.

Seven minutes from the short whistle Cork where awarded a penalty after Linda Collins was brought down when Niamh McCarthy set her up after she turned over a short puck out by Sarah Quigley.  Aoife Murray came forward to take, however, her shot was deflected out for a 45 and Cronin converted to put six between the sides.

On 26 Mackey stretched the lead when she pointed following an outstanding move that started deep inside the Cork 20 when Laura Tracey got a superbly timed block on Devane in front of goal.  Collins slotted over on 29 to push Cork eight clear before a Casey Hennessy shot at the other end whizzed past a diving Murray to shade the upright and head wide.  Devane pointed a 40 metre free on 31, but not before Thompson had the final say of the half when she slotted over to see Cork head to the dressing room 0-12 to 0-04 ahead.

Within two minutes of the restart Tipperary where reduced to 14 when Mary Ryan was shown a second yellow and sent to the line.  A brace from Mackey and Thompson saw Cork open up a 10 point lead before Devane pulled one back with a 20 metre placed ball on 36.

With the Tipp defence minus Ryan Cork piled on the pressure and returned a 45 metre free which Cronin duly converted on 40.  However, five minutes later Tipperary where dealt another hammer blow with the dismissal of Ereena Fryday for a second yellow which saw them reduced to 13 for the final 15 minutes.

The game as a contest had well and truly wilted and Cork picked off three unanswered points through O’Connor, Sigerson and Pamela Mackey to push Cork 0-19 to 0-05 ahead inside a four minute spell.  With 58 on the clock Tipperary were awarded a penalty when Murray was shown yellow for a foul on Devane.  When Devane released her shot it was Gemma O’Connor on the line who deflected it over the bar to deny Tipp any chance of goal or indent on the substantial Cork lead and see the game close out with Cork taking victory on a scoreline of Cork 0-19, Tipperary 0-06.


Cork: A. Murray (c), L. O’Sullivan, L. Treacy, L. Coppinger, H. Looney, G. O’Connor, P. Mackey, C. Sigerson, A. Thompson, A. O’Connor, O. Cronin, K. Mackey, L. Homan, L. Collins, J. White.

Subs: N. McCarthy for L. Homan (15, inj), S. McCarthy for J. White & N. O’Callaghan for L. O’Sullivan (49), A. Sheehan for C. Sigerson (55), S. Hutchinson for H. Looney (60).

Tipperary: S. Quigley, L. Loughnane, G. Grace, C. Walsh, C. Quirke, K. Kennedy, M. Ryan, R. Cahill, E. Fryday, M. Ryan, O. O’Dwyer, S. Fryday, G. O’Brien, C. Devane, C. Hennessy.

Subs: C. Maher for R. Cahill & S. Buckley for M. Ryan (29), C. Mullaney for S. Fryday (HT), J. Kelly for G. O’Brien (46), A. McGrath for C. Quirke (48).


Cork: A. Thompson 0-05, O. Cronin 0-04 (0-02f, 0-0245), K. Mackey 0-03, L. Collins 0-02, A. O’Connor 0-02, J. White, 0-01,  C. Sigerson 0-01, P. Mackey 0-01.

Tipperary: C. Devane 0-05 (0-02f, 0-01 [pen]), O. O’Dwyer 0-01

Referee:     Fintan McNamara, Clare


Pics Credit: Trevor Patchett


Pics Credit: Colbert O’Sullivan

Comments are closed.